My Florida Florida Public Service Commission
Quick Search:   Advanced Search

Site Map
Interactive Site Map Close
Site Map | Site Index
Home Page > Florida Public Service Commission News Releases

Florida State Seal State of Florida
Public Service Commission


06/07/2012 Contact: 850-413-6482

PSC Commissioner Lisa Polak Edgar Nominated as NARUC’s Second Vice President

TALLAHASSEE —  Florida Public Service Commissioner (PSC) Lisa Polak Edgar has been nominated to be Second Vice President of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC) representing state utility regulators across the country.

Nominated at the Southeastern Regulatory Utility Commissioners meeting on June 6, Commissioner Edgar will be included in officer elections during NARUC’s 124th Annual Meeting November 11-14, in Baltimore, where more than 130 State commissioners are expected to attend. 

“I am honored to be nominated by my peers and look forward to working with my fellow Commissioners throughout the NARUC organization on policies that benefit the consumers we all serve,” said Commissioner Edgar.  “It’s an especially exciting time for NARUC’s leadership, as we work to improve customer satisfaction and broaden stakeholder participation.”

Commissioner Edgar previously served on NARUC’s Board of Directors, as well as the Committees on Electricity and Consumer Affairs and was recently appointed to serve on a new Task Force on Environmental Regulation and Generation.  From 2005 through 2009, she served on the Federal Communications Commission Universal Service Joint Board working for efficient, accountable, and fiscally responsible use of universal service funds.

In becoming Second Vice President, Commissioner Edgar will be a member of the NARUC Executive Committee, which includes the NARUC President, First Vice President, Second Vice President, Treasurer, and three ex-officio members to provide geographic balance.  The Executive Committee oversees NARUC’s overall operations.

Commissioner Edgar was appointed to Florida’s PSC for a four-year term beginning January 2005.  From January 2006 to January 2008, she served as Chairman and participated as a member of the Florida Energy Commission and the Governor's Action Team on Energy and Climate Change.  She was reappointed to a second four-year term beginning in January  2009 and has worked to develop policies to strengthen the state’s electric infrastructure, to establish net metering and interconnection rules that encourage customer participation and development in renewable energy, and to promote fuel diversity.

For additional information, visit

Follow the PSC on Twitter, @floridapsc.