My Florida Florida Public Service Commission
Quick Search:   Advanced Search

Site Map
Interactive Site Map Close
Site Map | Site Index
Home Page > Florida Public Service Commission News Releases

Florida State Seal State of Florida
Public Service Commission


01/05/2006 Contact: 850-413-6482

Katrina Tew Sworn in as PSC Commissioner

TALLAHASSEE — Katrina Joanne Tew was sworn in Thursday to the Florida Public Service Commission, the five-member body that regulates the state’s investor-owned electric, gas, water, wastewater and telecommunications companies.

“I am fortunate to have been granted the opportunity to serve the people of this state, and I intend to gain their confidence by demonstrating a commitment to a fair process and decisions that serve the public interest,” Tew said.

Commissioner Tew was appointed to a four-year term by Gov. Jeb Bush in October.  Most recently, she has served consecutive terms as Chief Advisor to two different Florida Public Service Commissioners.  Prior to becoming a Chief Advisor, Tew managed the State Liaison Section of the Commission’s Division of Policy Analysis & Intergovernmental Liaison.  She also served as the Commission’s primary liaison on all nuclear energy matters and was instrumental in drafting the Commission’s positions on electric industry restructuring, which provided valuable input to Florida’s Congressional delegation on how restructuring proposals would impact the state and its electric consumers.

Tew, 32, received a Bachelor’s degree in finance followed by a Master of Business Administration degree from Florida State University.