My Florida Florida Public Service Commission
Quick Search:   Advanced Search

Site Map
Interactive Site Map Close
Site Map | Site Index
Home Page > Florida Public Service Commission News Releases

Florida State Seal State of Florida
Public Service Commission


11/13/2012 Contact: 850-413-6482

PSC Commissioner Lisa Polak Edgar Elected NARUC's Second Vice President

TALLAHASSEE — Florida Public Service Commissioner (PSC) Lisa Polak Edgar has been elected Second Vice President of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC) representing state utility regulators across the country.  The first Florida Commissioner to be a NARUC officer, she was elected at NARUC’s 124th Annual Meeting, November 11-14, in Baltimore, Maryland with more than 130 State commissioners attending. 

“I am honored to represent Florida in NARUC’s leadership and look forward to working with my fellow State Commissioners on policies that benefit the consumers we all serve,” said Commissioner Edgar.  “It’s an especially exciting time for NARUC, as we work to improve customer satisfaction, broaden stakeholder participation, and communicate state needs to pertinent federal agencies.”

Recently reappointed by Governor Rick Scott to her third PSC term, Commissioner Edgar serves on NARUC’s Board of Directors, as well as the Committees on Electricity and Consumer Affairs.  She was also recently appointed to a new NARUC Task Force on Environmental Regulation and Generation.  From 2005 through 2009, she served on the Federal Communications Commission Universal Service Joint Board working for efficient, accountable, and fiscally responsible use of universal service funds.

As Second Vice President, Commissioner Edgar is a member of the NARUC Executive Committee, which includes the NARUC President, First Vice President, Second Vice President, Treasurer, and three ex-officio members to provide geographic balance.  The Executive Committee oversees NARUC’s overall operations.

Commissioner Edgar was first appointed to Florida’s PSC for a four-year term beginning January 2005.  From January 2006 to January 2008, she served as Chairman and participated as a member of the Florida Energy Commission and the Governor's Action Team on Energy and Climate Change.  She was reappointed to a second four-year term beginning in January 2009 and has worked to develop policies to strengthen the state’s electric infrastructure, to establish net metering and interconnection rules that encourage customer participation and development in renewable energy, and to promote fuel diversity.

For additional information, visit

Follow the PSC on Twitter, @floridapsc.