LISA POLAK EDGAR CHAIRMAN STATE OF FLORIDA



CAPITAL CIRCLE OFFICE CENTER 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard Tallahassee, FL 32399-0850 (850) 413-6044

## Public Service Commission

April 18, 2006

Ms. Valerie Lord Rose, Sundstrom & Bentley, LLP Sanlando Center 2180 W. State Road 434, Suite 2118 Longwood, FL 32779

Re: Docket No. 060256-SU - Application for an increase in wastewater rates by Alafaya Utilities, Inc.

Dear Ms. Lord:

The Florida Public Service Commission has received your letter dated March 20, 2006, requesting approval for Alafaya Utilities, Inc. (Alafaya) to use a historical test year ended December 31, 2005, with pro forma plant and operating expenses adjustments, for establishing final rates. You state the utility will file its application using the Proposed Agency Action (PAA) provision in Section 367.081(8), F.S. Pursuant to Rule 25-30.430, F.A.C., the utility's test year request as outlined above is hereby approved.

For administrative purposes only, Docket No. 060256-SU has been assigned to the forthcoming case. Your petition will be deemed filed on the date the Division of the Commission

BOCUMENT NUMBER-DATE

Ms. Valerie Lord Page 2 April 18, 2006

on subsequent years, the related adjustments shall also be made to reflect the impact for the appropriate period up to and including the approved test year. Further, the utility should be prepared to justify its requested test year operation and maintenance expenses, particularly those which have increased above the level of customer growth and inflation for the year ended five years prior to the test year.

The utility is instructed to file all information it wishes the Commission to consider when arriving at a decision on its rate case application with its original filing. Because of the time limitations contained in Section 367.081, F.S., and the lengthy auditing and investigation required, information not filed with the original application may not be considered.

Sincerely,

Lisa Polak Edgar Lisa Polak Edgar

Chairman

LPE:wtr

cc: Dr. Mary Bane, Executive Director

Charles H. Hill, Deputy Executive Director

Betty Ashby

Division of Economic Regulation (Willis, Rendell, Fletcher, Redemann)

Office of the General Counsel (Helton, Jaeger)

Division of the Commission Clerk and Administrative Services

Harold McLean, Office of Public Counsel