Matthew M. Carter II Chairman

State of Florida



Capital Circle Office Center 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard Tallahassee, FL 32399-0850 Telephone: (850) 413-6046 Fax: (850) 413-6395

Public Service Commission

December 3, 2008

08 DEC - 3 PM 3: 45

Ms. Chervl M. Martin, Controller Florida Public Utilities Company Post Office Box 3395 West Palm Beach, Florida 33402-3395

Dear Ms. Martin:

In response to your June 10, 2008, test year notification letter, Docket No. 080366-GU has been opened for Florida Public Utilities Company's (Company) forthcoming general rate increase proceeding. It has been noted that the Company proposes to utilize a projected twelvemonth period ending December 31, 2009, as the test year for the permanent rate increase proceeding. However, the appropriateness of the selected test year may be an issue in the proceeding. In addition, the Company intends to seek its permanent rate relief through the Proposed Agency Action procedure as authorized in section 366.06(4), Florida Statutes. The Company will also request interim rate relief in this proceeding.

Agency Actuo...
will also request interm.
is my understanding that the Company ...
sr 23, 2008. Therefore, the Minimum Filing Require...
due at the Commission's offices no earlier than August 8, 2000
er 23, 2008. If the Company is unable to file by that date, it must notify the contract of the provisions of Rule 25-7.140(3), Florida Administrative Code.
If you should have any questions, please contact John Slemkewicz, Public Utilities visor, in the Division of Economic Regulation, at (850) 413-6420.
Sincerely,
Mar Maradamara December 23, 2008. Therefore, the Minimum Filing Requirements and associated testimony will be due at the Commission's offices no earlier than August 8, 2008, and no later than December 23, 2008. If the Company is unable to file by that date, it must notify the Commission in accordance with the provisions of Rule 25-7.140(3), Florida Administrative Code.

Supervisor, in the Division of Economic Regulation, at (850) 413-6420.

cc: Dr. Mary Bane Michael Cooke Tim Devlin Marshall Willis Cheryl Bulecza-Banks John Slemkewicz Office of Commission Clerk J. R. Kelly, Office of Public Counsel

.