COMMISSIONERS: RONALD A. BRISÉ, CHAIRMAN LISA POLAK EDGAR ART GRAHAM EDUARDO E. BALBIS JULIE I. BROWN

STATE OF FLORIDA



GENERAL COUNSEL S. CURTIS KISER (850) 413-6199

COMMISSION COMMISSION

12 MAY 16 PM 2: 3:

Hublic Service Commission

May 16, 2012

Mr. Kenneth Hoffman Florida Power & Light Company 215 South Monroe Street Tallahassee, FL 32301-1858

STAFF'S SECOND DATA REQUEST

Re: Docket No. 120072-EQ - Petition for approval of renewable energy tariff and standard offer contract, by Florida Power & Light Company.

Dear Mr. Hoffman:

By this letter the Commission staff request that Florida Power and Light Company (FPL or Utility) provide responses to the following data requests.

- 1. Please refer to page 1 of 2 (from FPL's response to Staff's First Data Request, Question No. 10) and page 1 of 4 (from FPL's response to Staff's First Data Request, Question No. 11) in responding to the following: Please explain why the energy rates in the payment stream assuming the 2025 avoided unit exceed those which assume the short term PPA in 2021 (that is, when assuming the 2025 avoided unit, please explain why the energy rates would not revert to the lesser of the cost of as-available energy or the energy cost associated with the unit).
- 2. Please explain why the firm capacity rate of a renewable facility located near FPL's Cape Canaveral site may be adjusted by the factor contained in Appendix III of the contract. Please provide an example in this explanation.
- 3. Is the value of capacity location dependent on the avoided unit or power purchase agreement?

Internet E-mail: contact@psc.state.fl.us

STAFF'S SECOND DATA REQUEST Page 2 May 16, 2012

Please file the original and five copies of the requested information by May 25, 2012, with Ms. Ann Cole, Commission Clerk, Office of Commission Clerk, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida, 32399-0850. Please feel free to call me at (850) 413-6183 if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

Pauline E. Robinson, Esq.

Attorney

Office of the General Counsel

PE/dmw

cc: Office of Commission Clerk