## STATE OF FLORIDA

JULIE I. BROWN CHAIRMAN



Capital Circle Office Center 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard Tallahassee, FL 32399-0850 (850) 413-6042

## **Public Service Commission**

January 20, 2016

Mr. Eric E. Silagy President and Chief Executive Officer Florida Power & Light 700 Universe Boulevard Juno Beach, Florida 33408-2657

Docket No. 160021-EI, Petition for Increase in Rates by Florida Power & Light Company Re:

Dear Mr. Silagy:

In response to your Test Year Notification letter dated January 15, 2016, the Florida Public Service Commission (Commission) has opened Docket No. 160021-EI for Florida Power & Light Company's (Company) forthcoming general rate increase proceeding. It has been noted that the Company proposes to utilize a projected 12-month test year period ending December 31, 2017, for the permanent rate increase proceeding, as well as a subsequent year adjustment based on a projected 12-month period ending December 31, 2018. Although, please be advised that the appropriateness of the selected test years may be an issue in the proceeding. In addition, the Company has proposed a limited scope base rate adjustment to be effective upon the first day of commercial operation of the Company's Okeechobee Clean Energy Center, currently projected to be June 1, 2019.

It is my understanding that the Company intends to make its filing no earlier than March 15, 2016, in order to be in compliance with Rule 25-6.140(1), Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.). If the Company is unable to file by March 31, 2016, it must notify the Commission in accordance with Rule 25-6.140(3), F.A.C.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding this matter, please contact Andrew Maurey, the Director of the Division of Accounting & Finance at (850) 413-6465.

Sincerely,

Julie I. Brown

Chairman

JB/crbb:am

Mr. Eric E. Silagy Page 2 January 20, 2016

cc: Commissioner Lisa Polak Edgar

Commissioner Art Graham

Commissioner Ronald A. Brisé

Commissioner Jimmy Patronis

Mr. Braulio Baez, Executive Director

Ms. Lisa Harvey, Deputy Executive Director

Ms. Mary Anne Helton, Deputy General Counsel

Mr. Andrew Maurey, Director, Division of Accounting & Finance

Ms. Carlotta Stauffer, Director, Office of Commission Clerk

Mr. J. R. Kelly, Public Counsel