## STATE OF FLORIDA

Commissioners: E. LEON JACOBS, JR., CHAIRMAN J. TERRY DEASON LILA A. JABER BRAULIO L. BAEZ MICHAEL A. PALECKI



Division of Regulatory Oversight Daniel M. Hoppe, Director (850) 413-6480

## Public Service Commission

May 2, 2002

Ms. Angela Llewellyn Tampa Electric Company d/b/a Peoples Gas System Regulatory Affairs P.O. Box 111 Tampa, FL 33601-0111

## Re: Docket No. 020384-GU; Tampa Electric Company d/b/a Peoples Gas System; Audit the rate case filing; Audit Control No. 02-122-2-1

Dear Ms. Llewellyn:

The Florida Public Service Commission will audit the rate case filing, in accordance with Commission audit procedures. Access will be requested to documents and records of the utility and, if necessary, supporting records for affiliate company transactions that affect regulated operations. Staff auditors may also request to review the utility's external audit working papers for the most recent independent audit. Jim McPherson, (813)356-1433, the district office supervisor, will coordinate this audit. Questions regarding the audit or audit staff should be directed to the district supervisor or myself. My phone number is (850) 413-6487.

The Audit Access to Records rule for each industry states:

In those instances where the utility disagrees with the auditor's assessment of a reasonable response time to the audit request, the utility shall first attempt to discuss the disagreement with the auditor and reach an acceptable revised date. If agreement cannot be reached, the utility shall discuss the issue with successive levels of supervisors at the Commission until an agreement is reached.

0000MENT NUMBER - DATE

Ms. Angela Llewellyn Page 2 May 2, 2002

A formal report is expected to be issued for internal Commission use on July 15, 2002. A copy of the final report will be mailed to the company liaison listed in the Commission Mailing Directory.

Sincerely,

nise Mandeve

Denise N. Vandiver Bureau Chief of Auditing Services

cc: Division of Regulatory Oversight (Tampa District Office Supervisor, File Folder) Division of Commission Clerk and Administrative Services (2) Division of Legal Services Office of the Public Counsel