# Florida Public Service Commission

# FACTS FIGURES

## PSC Facts, Figures & Responsibilities

# How the PSC Evolved

The PSC, created by the Florida Legislature in 1887, was originally called the Florida Railroad Commission. The primary purpose of the Commission was the regulation of railroad passenger and freight rates and operations. The Legislature abolished the Commission in 1891, then re-established it in 1897.

As Florida's population grew and its industry base diversified, the Legislature conferred upon the Commission additional responsibilities. These ever changing charges include periods of both regulatory expansion and deregulation. Regulatory authority over various industries began as follows:

1911	Telephone & Telegraph
1929	Motor Carrier Transportation
1951	Investor-Owned Electrics
1952	Natural Gas
1959	Water and Wastewater
1972	Airlines

In 1974 the Legislature gave the Commission rate structure jurisdiction over municipal and rural cooperative electric utilities. Due to deregulation, the Commission lost jurisdiction over airlines in 1978. In 1980, motor carriers were deregulated; five years later, railroads were deregulated. The Commission received safety jurisdiction over all electric utilities in 1986. And in 1995, legislation was approved allowing competition for local exchange telephone service.

### **Case Activity**

During 2014, the PSC received and processed 6,916 numbered documents. It opened 245 dockets, reopened 7 dockets, and closed 254 dockets.

# What Does the PSC Regulate?

# The PSC has regulatory authority over the following utilities:

- ♦ 5 investor-owned electric utilities;
- 8 investor-owned natural gas utilities; and
- ◆ 149 investor-owned water and/or wastewater utilities.

## As of December 2014, the number of certificated or registered telecommunications companies in the State of Florida were as follows:

- ◆ 10 incumbent local exchange telephone companies (ILECs);
- ◆ 252 competitive local exchange companies (CLECs);
- ♦ 63 pay telephone service companies (PATs);
- ◆ 21 alternative access vendors (AAVs); and
- ◆ 15 shared tenant service telephone providers (STS).

# The PSC also has limited jurisdiction over the following utilities:

- ♦ 18 rural electric cooperatives;
- ♦ 34 municipally owned electric systems;
- ◆ 27 municipally owned natural gas utilities; and
- 4 special gas districts.

# How are Commissioners Selected?

The Public Service Commission consists of five members selected for their knowledge and experience in one or more fields substantially related to the duties and functions of the Commission. These fields include economics, accounting, engineering, finance, natural resource conservation, energy, public affairs, and law.

The Governor appoints Commissioners. Commissioners must also be confirmed by the Florida Senate. Prior to 1979, three Commissioners were elected in statewide elections. The 1978 Legislature adopted a bill changing the Commission to a fivemember appointed board.

The Public Service Commission provides a staff of information specialists who are available to answer questions from Florida consumers.

To reach a consumer representative, please call the Public Service Commission during business hours at **1-800-342-3552**, or send a fax to 1-800-511-0809. See the PSC's Internet home page at <u>www.FloridaPSC.com</u>.