Relief for Lifeline Participants Affected by Hurricane Helene

On October 1, 2024, the Wireline Competition Bureau (WCB) of the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) released an <u>Order</u> that temporarily waives the non-usage, de-enrollment for non-usage, and annual recertification requirements under the Lifeline rules for participants in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia in the affected disaster areas.

The waiver period under this order is through November 30, 2024. Subscribers residing in the affected disaster areas and who are subject to the non-usage rule will have 30 days (beginning on December 1, 2024) to use their Lifeline service. If the subscriber does not use their service during the 30-day period, the 15-day notice period will begin on December 31, 2024.